Navigation Menu+

Jackson Bank, Providence

“The Jackson Bank was incorporated in May, 1854. It was located at 25 Broad street, and had a capital of $170,000. About 1868 it was removed to 29 Weybosset street, its present location. Its capital steadily increased until 1876, when it reached $344,450, which figures have since been maintained. The first directors were Eli Aylsworth, Benjamin M. Jackson, John A. Darling, Amos M. Warner, Benjamin R. Arnold, Henry R. Congdon and Seth W. Baker. The first president was Eli Aylsworth, but he was soon succeeded by Alfred Anthony, who served to 1883, being then followed by Cornelius S. Sweetland, who is now in the office. J. A. Bosworth, the first cashier, was succeeded by Theodore B. Talbot in 1862. The latter continued until 1885, when he was succeeded by George E. Leonard, the present cashier. Mr. Leonard was teller from 1867 to 1885, and was then succeeded in that office by Edwin T. Herrick. The present directors are Cornelius S. Sweetland, Hugh B. Bain, George W. Bradford, Gilbert F. Robbins and George E. Leonard.” — Richard M. Bayles, ed. History of Providence County, Rhode Island, Volume I. New York: W. W. Preston, 1891.

The Jackson Bank was liquidated in 1895. It paid its final dividend to stockholders in July, 1904.

© 2015, Old Banknotes From Rhode Island. Please do not republish the images on this website without permission.