Navigation Menu+

Liberty Bank, Providence

“The Liberty Bank was incorporated in May, 1854, with a capital of $100,000. It was located at No. 4 Canal street. The president from the beginning to 1882 was Duty Evans, and the cashier during the whole term was C. R. Drowne. The first directors w r ere Duty Evans, Robert W. Potter, Arnold C. Hawes, George W. Payton, John Eddy, Charles W. Holbrook. George E. Cleveland, George L. Clark, Henry B. Metcalf, I). B. Lewis. Henry F. Tingley, C. R. Drowne and John N. Francis. The bank was moved several times, but about 1880 was located at 62 Westminster street, and its capital then bed returned to the original figure, though about 1862 it had been as high as $154,150. The directors in 1882 were Duty Evans, John Eddy, Charles W. Holbrook, C. R. Drowne, Sylvester G. Martin, George Chatterton and William Oscar Cornell.” — Richard M. Bayles, ed. History of Providence County, Rhode Island, Volume I. New York: W. W. Preston, 1891.

Liberty Bank was also located at No. 9 Exchange Place. It never became a national bank and was liquidated in 1883.


Liberty Bank providence



An envelope that accompanied the note above.


© 2015, Old Banknotes From Rhode Island. Please do not republish the images on this website without permission.